Fionn mac Cumhaill: Irish Hero and Legend

The Fionn mac Cumhaill Series is a series of Irish adventure novels based around some of the early events outlined in Macgnímartha Finn (The Boyhood Deeds of Fionn).

An exciting contemporary version of a narrative that’s almost a thousand years old, the Fionn mac Cumhaill Series recounts the adventures of the young Fionn (originally known as Demne) and the people who protected him during his upbringing at Ráth Bládhma: his aunt Bodhmhall, the woman warrior Liath Luachra, Fiacail mac Codhna and Muirne Muncháem.

Although the series is a work of fiction, it is far more historically accurate than any other existing version of the tales and aligns completely with the original 12th century manuscript on which it is based. This series introduces rare ancient Irish cultural concepts and insights into the tribal systems that have been omitted from all previously published works.

There are six novels planned:

Book 1: FIONN: Defence of Ráth Bladhma (available in ebook and also in paperback)
Book 2: FIONN: Traitor of Dún Baoiscne (available in ebook form and in paperback)
Book 3: FIONN: The Adversary (available in ebook form and in paperback)
Book 4: FIONN: Stranger at Mullán Bán (available in ebook form and in paperback)
Book 5: FIONN: The Betrayal (anticipated release Dec 2023)
Book 6: Untitled

This unique Irish adventure series allows some of the stranger and lesser-known elements from the ancient social structures to be introduced in an accessible manner. Although the books are painstakingly researched and as authentic as possible, they’re also pure, unadulterated action and adventure. The first book in the series (FIONN: The Defence of Ráth Bládhma) came 4th (out of 300 entrants) in the highly competitive SPFBO 2016 fantasy competition and we’re pleased to say our other books have been just as popular.